Yek Min Ek Foundation awards 21 Scholarships for 2019

BINTULU: Yek Min Ek Foundation has chosen 9 new candidates out of 16 applicants as 2019 Yek Min Ek Foundation Scholars to add to 12 continuing Scholars from previous years to give a total of 21 Scholars for 2019. The selected candidates will be contacted by telephone.

The late Tan Sri Dato Sri Yek Min Ek set up the Yek Min Ek Foundation in 1984 to assist needy Malaysian student outstanding both in study and conduct, irrespective of their ethnicity and the discipline they chose to pursue. The key significance is to help them discover their potentials, develop their capabilities so that they could make practical contribution towards the country’s development, and appreciate the spirit of giving back. Over the past 35 years, 321 students have benefited from the scholarships. Yek Min Ek Foundation Scholars do not need to repay the scholarship; however, the scholars must serve in Sarawak, Malaysia for a minimum of three years upon the completion of their degree.

The Trustees of Yek Min Ek Foundation for year 2019 comprise the following:

Chairman : Mr Yek Siew Liong

Trustee cum Secretary  : Mrs Edith Yek

Trustees :

Dr Wong Ching Seh
Mr Hii Ching Chiong
Mr Law Siong Lee
Mr Timothy Yek Li-Yuan

June 19 2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *